My new friend

image

  • “Lizzy!” my mum called from the basement
    “Mum! I’m coming” I ran quickly to meet her forgetting i wasn’t wearing my slippers
    “Please, i need you to go down the street and get me a screw driver from Mrs Martins” she said not looking at me
    Thank God she didn’t look at me, if not she would have realized i wasn’t wearing my slippers, she really hated that.
    I left her there and quickly put on my slippers and rushed out. Walking down the street, waving to a few people i knew neighbors as we usually call them…. I was getting close to Mrs Martins house, just then i saw a girl a bit a taller than i was i guess because she had long legs which i noticed and a black kinky hair, sitting on the pavement sobbing… I ignored her and continued walking but her sobs stopped me from moving a step further, so i went back and sat beside her… She didn’t notice because her head was lowered, i kept asking myself what i was doing here instead of going to Mrs Martin’s house to get the screwdriver for my mum.
    “Hello” I finally said
    She finally looked up, her eyes were already sore from crying, she was really beautiful from what i could see but hardship had disfigured her into a walking dead, she said nothing just lowered her head and continued crying.
    She didn’t want to talk to me or anyone, so i stood up and started walking to Mrs Martin’s house
    “Please wait” i turned and looked, the voice belonged to the girl, i felt really sorry for her and went back to sit down beside her
    “I ran away from home, because my mum wants me no more. She blames me for everything and that I’m the reason my dad left her, that my dad never wanted a girl but a boy. She couldn’t take in again because her womb was damaged because of an infection, so my dad left us” she said with tears welled up in her eyes
    I didn’t know what to tell Her because i also came from a broken home, my mum and dad got divorced after my mum caught my dad cheating but i couldn’t go into details
    “I’ll take you to my mum, just don’t leave here, I’ll be right back” i said getting up
    I rushed over to Mrs martin’s house and got the screwdriver and took along with me the girl.
    “What took you so long Lizzy?” my mum asked when i got to the basement
    Just then she noticed a figure behind me and lowering her voice she asked
    “Who is she? What’s her name? Who are her parents?”
    “Mum slow down, first of all i forgot to ask her about her name but she needs help” i said
    My mum willingly accepted her, i later found out that her name is Mabel, she told my mum everything and mum promised to take her back to her mum the next day, she retaliated though but my mum told her that she’ll have no reason to run away from home again. The next day finally arrived, we all rode down to Mabel’s house, after the bell rang a woman with so much resemblance with Mabel opened the door with bloodshot eyes. She looked at Mabel and started sobbing, my mum took her in… the house was a mess, she had been drinking. My mum and i cleaned up the entire house and my mum finally sat Mabel’s mum down and also told her, about her own marriage and promised to help her get a job.
    After hearing the words of encouragement from my mum, her countenance changed and she asked Mabel to forgive her, and promised to give her a better life. We left them to catch up. On our way back home…..
    “I’m so proud of you Lizzy” my mum said with a smile on our face.
    I was so happy that i was able to help someone.
    A few weeks later, Mabel and her mum came over to our place to thank us, Mabel looked transformed and i could see she was happier now, i felt a sense of satisfaction. That was how the friendship started between both families.
    I got to go now guys, I’m supposed to meet Mabel at the mall. Always learn to help people no matter how small. Much love xx
    -Lizzy
    image
3 thoughts on “My new friend

Leave a Reply

