The Act of Forgiveness

Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that- Martin Luther King, Jr.

Forgiveness an eleven letter word, easy to say, hard to do. 

“How do I forgive a man who calls himself my dad but walked out on my mum and left her to cater for us because he has found paradise and solitude in the thighs of another woman?”

“How do I forgive that guy who I gave my all too and even my virginity but he still left me and got married to someone else?”

“How do I forgive that friend who betrayed me?”

“How do I forgive that uncle who raped me at a tender age? And made me a night worker because I couldn’t commit to any man?”

How? How? 
These are some questions you’ll be asked when you bring up the topic of forgiveness. I have heard a lot of stories and experienced it myself, I know how we all react to the topic of forgiveness. Especially when you’re a Christian and the pastor brings up this topic and says “Even Jesus said on the cross, father forgive them for they know not what they’re doing” and you sit there silently pondering on that and asking yourself “Was it that easy?” Like Cece Winans said in one of her songs “It wasn’t easy but it was worth it”.

To be a Christian means to forgive the inexcusable because God has forgiven the inexcusable in you.- C.S. Lewis

Forgiveness is not easy but it’s necessary we learn as humans to forgive. Some days back, I was having a heated discussion with someone and the next thing this person said was “You had no idea how much hatred I had for you” it sounded very funny and shocking to me because at a point, we stopped talking because I needed to move on, but I knew what I did wasn’t the right thing so I came back to apologize not knowing that the person still carry me for mind, life can be really twisted sometimes. Forgiving a whole lot of people has really helped me a lot, it has made my skin glow, made me more happy, made me sleep without no worries. And you may be asking yourself why should I forgive? I’ll give you reasons why you should forgive
1) Life is too Short

You never know when our maker could call us home. You never know the last goodbyes or when next you’ll have that opportunity, do not postpone. DO IT NOW!
2) To set your soul free

Unforgiveness chokes one’s soul, you know there’s something you ain’t doing right, it’s always there as a reminder. Let go of the hate and forgive, you’ll be content and happy within yourself that you have done he right thing. SET YOUR SOUL FREE!
3) It is a commandment

From the beginning of time, forgiveness has always been a major factor. We were commanded by God to forgive our enemies no matter what they did to us (MATTHEW 6:14-15, MARK 11:25). If we want forgiveness from God, we should also forgive whoever has offended us.
These are the few reasons why you should forgive, they are so many more but these are the major ones for me. We all need forgiveness at a certain point in our life too….so let’s do the right thing.

It’s one of the greatest gifts you can give yourself, to forgive. Forgive everybody- Maya Angelou

 

I’ll like to hear from you my dear readers, what does forgiveness mean to you? What was the major reason why you forgave a lot of people? Pls do not read without leaving a comment because I also want to learn a few things too. Thanks for reading and God bless.

8 thoughts on “The Act of Forgiveness

  1. Forgiveness sets one free!! I could say that again and again.
    I wouldn’t trade my peace for anything!! Whenever I remember this, I just have to forgive.
    Another aspect of forgiveness we shouldn’t neglect is “self-forgiveness”
    Forgive yourself for your past mistakes, take responsibility, and move forward..
    Thanks honey for pointing us in this direction..
    Keep it up!!

  2. I’m just seeing this but as of this time yesterday morning, I was up composing a message to a friend I stopped talking to last year on forgiveness and letting go! It sets your mind free and gives you total peace. Don’t wait until that person is 10fts beneath the ground. Don’t let your ego destroy your forever!

    1. Yes dear… I’m so proud you took that bold step. Thank you for reading, this should be your first comment on my post. Hoping to see more of your comments. Stay blessed ❤

  3. I love this. It’s something a lot of people struggle with, including myself. Not to digress, but as part of this, some people feel not offended with someone, but offended with God… Someone prayed that their mom’s cancer would be cured but the mom does anyways. Might seem childish to some, but lots of people are offended with God and it’s difficult because one can’t ‘forgive’ God…. One needs healing from that which only God can give. That state is as bad, if not worse than someone who can’t forgive their fellow human. Anyways, excellent piece 😉

Leave a Reply

